Slow Chilli Con Carne

7 Sep

People with slow coookers always talk about how they’re so convenient – you just bang them on before work, and when you come home it’s all done. But for me, slow cooking always seems to take the whole day.

I never seem to have the required ingredients on hand, my pantry is always stocked with ridiculous once used items like miso paste and dried chick peas, so the start of a slow cooking day is taken up by going to the store. I’m really bad at shopping and always leave with arms full of green bags. At this point I usually realise that the meat I’m using is still in the freezer and can’t start for another 2 hours.

By the time I can actually start the browning and chopping and adding it’s lunchtime. But I guess if you call it slow cooking you can’t expect it to be quick, and when it’s done well, a slow cooked meal can be excellent.

One of my favourites is a slow cooked Chilli Con Carne passed on from my sister, Claire.

Ingredients:

600 g Chuck Steak

1 Brown Onion, chopped

1 Red Capsicum, chopped

2 x 400g tins diced tomatoes

1 Tsp beef stock (or 1 stock cube) mixed with 1/2 cup water or 1/2 cup beef stock

2 Cinnamon Quills

2 Tsp each Oregano, Chilli Powder, Cumin

1 Tsp each Cloves, Coriander

Method:

 Brown steak in a fry pan 3-4 minutes each side. Remove from pan and trim excess fat before adding to slow cooker. Add onion to pan and cook until softened. Deglaze pan with beef stock and add, along with onions to slow cooker. Add capsicum, tomatoes and spices to slow cooker and cook on high 4 hours (or low 6-8 hours, depending how much of the morning you’ve wasted).

Serve with rice, sour cream, guacamole and fresh oregano.

2 Responses to “Slow Chilli Con Carne”

  1. Colin September 7, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

    I love your writing most of all.
    The best story teller.
    I’ll skim through the recipe because I’ll just wait until you invite me over for dinner, and I’ll eat it there.

    x

  2. Claire September 15, 2010 at 9:01 am #

    Hahaha I totally agree with you, except I’m even worse in getting organised than that. I have a pressure cooker that is supposed to make cooking fast but still manages to take me at least 2 hrs to get anything on the table.

    I have decided that the lady who wrote my pressure cooker recipe book likes to stretch the truth when it comes to specifying the preparation/cooking time. You could even call it lying. I mean, how could anyone possibly “remove all visible fat” from 1.5kg of lamb chops, peel and chop a pumpkin, onions, measure out 6 different types of spice and locate a can of chickpeas in a measly 15 mins? I challenge anyone to do it in 45!

    But anyway, the chilli concarne recipe is very good. Maybe we could even try speeding it up in the good ol’ pressure cooker!
    xx

Leave a Reply

